How to Stop Obsessing Over Weight Loss and Lose Weight

One of the hardest things about losing weight is being so hard on yourself and rushing the process. Yes, going to the gym 3-4 times a week and cutting back on carbs and sugar are both challenging tasks (I did Keto for a month, I’ll let ya’ll know all about that struggle another day), but in the midst of doing these things we tend to beat ourselves up and compare our journeys to others’.

Put.the.Scale.Down

I’ve heard so many people say time and time again that the scale is the thief of joy. I never believed this (well I did because those numbers broke my heart) because I felt like it would be motivation to see those numbers going down and I wanted to know where I was starting from. I was wrong. I was so very wrong. The scale can be motivation but it can also cause you to doubt your journey.When you’ve been going hard in the gym and saying no every carb that comes your way and the scale says you’ve lost two pounds, which is the healthy rate of weight loss per week, you can get discouraged and run to the nearest pint of ice cream. I also learned that in many cases you don’t even look your weight. It’s been countless time when I’ve told someone I was 200 pounds and they literally looked at me in disbelief and said, “Shut up, no you’re not.” Now, the scale can be a helpful tool in tracking weight loss as long as you’re not obsessive and don’t allow yourself to get discouraged. What works for me is weighing myself once a month, the heartbreaks are far and few in between when I do it that way.

When You Stop Obsessing You Start Living

So lately when I see people I haven’t seen in awhile or I post a full body picture on my IG story I’m getting comments like,”Omg you’ve lost so much weight. What are you doing?!” or “Okay Jade, look at you slimming down.” I’m literally just standing there blushing and telling them to stop lying, but in reality I AM losing weight. I didn’t believe it because I wasn’t even really trying anymore, yes I was going to the gym when I actually dragged myself to go and I was eating better, but I was still having all the snacks I promised to swear off. I say all of this to say — stop stressing sis. We all know what we need to do to lose weight it’s just implementing it. When you decide to make a promise to yourself to first, love yourself before, during, and after this transformation and second, make better decisions for your health and fitness it will literally just start happening, and let’s be honest, you look your BEST when you’re happy.

Small Victories are Still Victories

Like I said I am still on this weight loss journey with you ladies, I’m trying to work out 3-4 times a week, I’m tracking my calories everyday, which I thought I would hate but myfitnesspal made it easy and helped me hold myself accountable, and I’m learning to love my body everyday. What I simply want you to take away from this post is — stop beating yourself up. You are doing amazing no matter if you just started today or if you’ve been on this journey for months; all that matters is that you made a decision and you took that first step. Focus on your non-scale victories. Try on those jeans you’ve been dying to wear but were too tight, try on that dress that hugs all your curves you’re not ready to show off just yet, and TAKE PROGRESS PICS. I promise you once you stop battling with the scale and you physically see and feel the changes in your body that’ll be all the motivation you need to keep going.

I want us all to hold each other accountable so DM me your email on Twitter @skinlovepeace and I’ll start a GroupMe so we can have a “check-in group chat.” I want us all to learn from and uplift one another because you never know how many people are going through the same things as you and how you can help one another. I look forward to chatting with you sugarplums, GET UP AND GO BE GREAT!

Blog 3 gif

Bye for now!

“If you are tired of starting over, stop giving up.” -Anonymous

7 thoughts on “How to Stop Obsessing Over Weight Loss and Lose Weight

  1. Hey Jade!

    This is such an amazing post. I’ve actually been going through this struggle myself lately–I’m unhappy with the way I look and I get so easily discouraged when I don’t see the results I want. But I love how your secret is to not be so hard on yourself and to take small steps in the right direction. It really makes me feel like I don’t need to flip my life upside-down; I simply need to make the small changes to improve. I’d love to be a part of your GroupMe as well! I’ll be sure to DM my contact info.

    Thanks SO much for this post, seriously!

    Like

    1. Wow, this just made my whole day! I’m so glad you enjoyed this post and it helped you even take a small step in the right direction. I appreciate your comment more than you know! Also, you’re gorgeous always remember that!!

      Like

    1. Thank you honey! I appreciate it! Don’t obsess just want better and do better and be happy doing all of it!

      Like

  2. Hey, Jade!

    I really really love this! I’ve struggled with my weight all my life, and this post made me smile all the way through. I completely agree when you say we look the best when we are happy. Someone’s smile can really brighten up their whole appearance, and everyone deserves a little bit of happiness.

    I can’t wait to see what you post next!

    Best,
    Ava

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment